top of page

Sirens

when Philando Castile was shot

the intersection of Snelling and

Larpenteur became a zoo

cars slowed down

attracted to the strange carnage

we passed the intersection

on the way to church that evening

I wanted to look out

but at the same time felt it was

too risky to do so

it was like the Caution tape formed

some rocky coastline to which I

couldn’t come near and yet live

but it was when my friend

(a reckless white boy

from Virginia) got caught speeding

and sweet-talked his way out of a ticket

that I realized / we are drawn to them

but we cannot die / and when I turned

on the evening news and saw the standoff

on I-94 (with live coverage

from people who couldn’t die)

I was glued to the TV because I was praying

for the protesters as they drew closer

and closer to the jagged silhouettes of policemen


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page