top of page

Shadow

the way my brother eats his toast

each morning is like this

he consumes it / honey-laden

from the center outwards

and he always throws away the crust

the way we love each other

is much the same: from the center out

for when I left you on the steps

the other night / perching still

as a bumblebee on your blooming

shadow in the porchlight

I couldn’t help but feel empty

the whole drive home / because when

you kiss me / I can feel myself dissolve

and by the time I clamber up the staircase

to my pitch-black bedroom

I'm as weightless as your shadow

so hollow-boned I'm scared I might fly

so please don't let me go

I cling to you where your feet

touch the ground / and wherever you go

I will follow / as long as there is light


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page